About the Festival

“The Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) is an annual film festival held in Metro Manila, the Philippines. The festival, which runs from December 25 (Christmas) through New Years Day and into first weekend of January in the following year, focuses on Filipino films. During the course of the festival, only films approved by the jurors of the MMFF are shown in movie theaters. No foreign movies are shown except in 3D theaters and IMAX theaters.

The annual event began with the 1975 Metro Manila Film Festival, during which Diligin Mo ng Hamog ang Uhaw na Lupa (“Water the Thirsty Earth with Dew”) by Augusto Buenaventura won the best film award.

One of the festival highlights is the parade of floats at the opening of the festival. The floats, each one representing a movie entry with their respective stars, parade down Roxas Boulevard. On the awards night, a Best Float award is also announced along with the major acting awards.”


A festival that celebrates Filipino artistic excellence, promotes audience development, and champions the sustainability of the Philippine film industry.


To develop audiences for and encourage the production of quality Filipino films, and to promote the welfare of its workers.

Executive Committee

Emerson Carlos

MMDA Chairman

Jesse Ejercito


Marcus Ng

Vice President, MMTA

Wilson Tieng

President, MPDAP

Rhoderick Armamento

Representative of PDIR

Teodoro Granados

FDCP Executive Director

Boots Anson-Roa

President, MOWELFUND

Alfred Vargas

House of Representatives

Joel Pagdilao


Moira Lang

Writer / Producer

Jun Romana

Bureau of Broadcast

Eugenio Villareal

Chairman, MTRCB

Edward Cabagnot

Academe Representative

Bryan Ian Montances

Rep. of Sen. Sonny Angara

Edgar Tejerero

President, SM Lifestyle Entertainment Inc.